Skip to content

Waxing Poetic

Yesterday was my son’s high school graduation.  I don’t know why but the whole day was sad for me.  I know I shouldn’t be sad; my son has grown up to be quite an amazing young man.  He is motivated,  has a great personality, is charming and is intelligent.  I’m very proud of him.  But the whole day was tinged with the thought that he really isn’t my baby anymore.  Even our conversations are more friend-like than parent-child-like.  I guess overall I’m happy and proud that he has made it through his primary and secondary education and grateful that all the work his father and I have put into raising him have not gone wasted.  He is an amazing individual.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 Comments Post a comment
  1. Congrats to your son! You are too sweet, and I’m sure all the feelings you have are completely natural. He’ll always been your son, so don’t worry, there will be plenty more adventures! xoxo

    September 26, 2010
  2. Cognrats to you both!

    September 27, 2010
  3. Andrew ("the Alchemist") #

    YAY!!!! Congrats to the both of you. =D

    And it’s true…he’s no longer a baby, but he’s still your boy!

    September 27, 2010
    • Thanks so much. He is still my special little guy

      September 27, 2010
  4. Congrats on your son’s graduation. It’s a milestone day in so many ways! You have done your job Lenya. He is a fine young man! I know it’s challenging for mom because you’re son is now a young man and ready to embark on fulfilling his own achievements in life which is wonderful…yet in the back of your mind you know one day he won’t be around, because if his goals takes him to a another city or country he won’t be as accessible. I’m dealing with that now, but I’m learning every day how to let go and be supportive in different kind of way. Mother’s with son always have to deal with that. Seems like girls stick close to home and mom, around but boys don’t. 😦

    October 20, 2010

Leave a Reply

